Homeward Bound

new home

I finally got a house!

I’d been looking for a place on and off for over a year–I had a failed offer this past spring–and finally, I got a cool little house. It’s a three bedroom rambler with a double garage, a family room, and a great backyard for Frankie. Mr. Jean of all Trades loves it too. He’s already set up the garage so he can work on his car.

This was a one-owner home, build in 1961–that’s a long time to live in the same place! Now we have it. As my colleague, Kim, said, it’s a great place to go “all Mad-Men crazy in.” You can count on a few mid-century modern interior design posts in the near future.

The acquisition stage of home ownership is proving to be pricy: inspections, appraisals, closing costs, down payment, movers, appliances–the list goes on. So sadly, clothes purchases have been at the bottom of my list.

My offer was accepted just before I went to Boston, so I had my last hurrah there. I’ll post my Boston purchases, and then you’ll see me remix my wardrobe until the house is in order. Don’t worry though–I haven’t even showcased all of my existing clothes on this blog, so things won’t get stale. And I’ll be hosting a clothing exchange when I get settled in. Where there’s a fashion will, there’s a way.

8 Comments

Filed under Architecture

8 responses to “Homeward Bound

  1. Congratulations on the new home!
    I hosted a clothing exchange recently. It was great fun and all the ladies are asking for another!
    Looking forward to seeing what you get up to in the remodeling and redecorating genre. 🙂
    Cheers,
    Laura

  2. Looks lovely and I know that once you get it decorated it will be fabulous!! Can’t wait to visit!!

    Do you have enough room for your clothes?

  3. Congrats on the new house Jean! Cannot wait to see it. I am envisioning a Mad Men Housewarming Party… plus Don Draper!

  4. Pingback: Seattle, Here We Come!! | fashionable over 50

Let's chat! I love hearing from you: