My Blog-a-versary

It’s hard to believe that I’ve been blogging for a year already–303 posts!. I wrote my first post on January 29, 2011. The first thing I did was join Kendi Everyday’s 30 for 30 challenge. What a great way to focus and have fun deadlines and goals! I met a lot of other wonderful bloggers that month–and every month since!Jean

The blogging community has been awesome! I joined the Feminist Fashion Bloggers soon after starting this blog, and later in the year I joined the Ethical Fashion Bloggers. I’ve participated in group challenges through Everybody, Everywear, Modly Chic, and Pretty, Shiny, Sparkly. I met a group of Seattle style bloggers at a picnic organized by Lindsay Living. I show my thrifty side at Color Blind’s Thrifters Anonymous link-up and my artsy side at Shadow Shot Sunday. I love being connected to amazing people all over the world.

I was thrilled when WordPress put me on their home page–twice! In May, they Freshly Pressed my Santa Fe Art Walk post (and it became my most-viewed post). In November, my dad and his thrifty style were featured (that was my second busiest day). The other posts that round out my top five are my DIY T-shirt Scarf post, my DIY Maxi Skirt Post, and my Bumble Bee Tattoo post. Four of my top ten posts are about feminism.

map of my viewersI’ve done guest post exchanges and had work from my Etsy shop featured on other blogs. All the wonderful opportunities and mentions are listed on my As Seen In page.

I’ve been invited to fashion shows and wine tastings. I’ve done product reviews and discovered wonderful local designers. Crystalyn Kae and UNA are two of my favorites.

My top commenters were Carmen, Lucky Duck, The Boston Fashionista, Victorian Kitty, and Sadie SewBaggins. Thank you for your support. This blog wouldn’t be successful without you.

I had a lovely tribute video made for me by my fashionable mom, who recently started a blog of her own. It really touched me.

Here’s to another fun year!

6 Comments

Filed under Fashion, General

6 responses to “My Blog-a-versary

  1. Happy blog-a-versary and wow just by looking at this one post I’ve now learned of some amazing groups to checkout, thank you!

  2. Congratulations on your one year Blogaversary, Jean! I can’t believe your number one post wasn’t this one! https://jeanofalltrades.wordpress.com/2012/01/19/street-style-two-tiny-tots/

    I love your little video; your mom must be so proud of you!! Not just for your great fashion sense and accomplishments, but also for bringing your compassion and passions into all aspects of your life, and your boldness for standing up for what you believe.

    Cheers to a true Jean of ALL trades!! 🙂

    • Just wait – that post hasn’t been up long enough. It could take over the #1 spot.

      Isn’t the video great? It’s so professional and the words are in sync with what’s going on (red flowers; the hillside). I bet she put a lot of work into that!

  3. Kudos on one year of blogging!!!

    I love your style, I enjoy reading your posts!! Always interesting with great photos!! I am very proud of you!! You are so beautiful inside and out!!

    The grey top you are wearing for this occasion is very pretty, love the button detailing.

    I’m glad you liked the video, it was a pleasure to put it together.

    You inspired me to start mine and it is a lot of fun! We meet some wonderful people on this blogging journey!!

    Thank you!!!

  4. It sounds like you had an amazing year. Great outfit above and thanks for stepping by at my blog!

Let's chat! I love hearing from you: