Shadow Shot: Walk in the Woods

My husband and I took a walk in the woods a few weeks ago. Seems like ages ago: The temperature was in the mid-80s, not like the cool fall weather we have now. Despite the heat, it was about 15 degrees cooler in the woods. The Redmond Watershed Preserve to be exact. I love the quiet tranquility of a forest and really appreciate nature’s air conditioning. We walked along an interpretive trail with signs that explained how the early loggers worked. Some of the old-growth remains were massive. Even the replacement trees towered over us.

tall trees

The forest was a nice reprieve from heat. The sun shone through the trees and created beautiful patterns of light. I enjoyed finding this little berry bush beneath the massive conifers. The berries were perfectly placed, almost like they were Christmas tree ornaments.

berries

During our walk, we heard a real racket coming from a large tree. We were amused when we saw this angry little squirrel shouting at us. There was a plaque explaining that the northern flying squirrel lives in these parts. But this little guy looks more like a red squirrel—at least that’s what this squirrel site would lead me to believe.

squirrel

We left the squirrel alone and kept walking until we found a pond. I looked for turtles but didn’t see any. I was enchanted by a beautiful, blue dragonfly.

dragonfly

berries and dragonfly

On our way back, we retraced our steps but didn’t hear the squirrel. Luckily Redmond isn’t too far away so we can come back to this wonderful sanctuary again. On the west trail, there’s a bigger pond complete with beavers and their dam! I’ll be sure to share photos of them with you next time.

Hey Harriet hosts Shadow Shot Sunday, a weekly photo challenge where people can submit their shadowy shots—pictures that show the play of light and dark. Check out her site for lots of inspiring photography.

7 Comments

Filed under Art, Photography

7 responses to “Shadow Shot: Walk in the Woods

  1. Such cool beauty in this wonderful forest setting! Love the upward perspective of the trees especially!

  2. carmen

    Beautiful photos and I love how you told this story! A picture is worth a thousand words, and your words painted a thousand pictures!!!

  3. I would love to walk in the woods there! Gorgeous photos!
    ~Rainey~ @ The Project table

  4. We always enjoy our walks through the woods nearby us here in Normandy, so quiet and still.
    The shadows playing over the leaves are delightful.

  5. magicalmysticalteacher

    I love to walk in shadowy places, where the trees tower over me!

    SHADOW, SHADOW

    Shadow, shadow drawing near,
    You are all alone, I fear;
    Let me be your new-found friend—
    I’ll stick with you to the end!

    © 2011 by Magical Mystical Teacher

    River Shadows

  6. Simply beautiful!

    Late visiting from Shadow Shot Sunday, please come and see some shadows at my page. Have a great week ahead!

Let's chat! I love hearing from you: