Shadow Shot: Glassy Reflection

Hey Harriet has a wonderful weekly photo challenge where lots of people submit their shadowy shots—pictures that show the play of light and dark.

This week, I want to share a neat shadow cast by a clear glass lamp. I never really thought of something translucent having much of a shadow, but this glass lamp does. In fact, the shadow is more prominent than the lamp itself.

Quoin

glassy shadow

I found the lamp hanging in the window of Quoin, a bar that together with Revel, a restaurant, occupy the building at 36th St. and Phinney Ave. in Seattle’s eclectic Fremont neighborhood.

The yellow wall behind the lamp serves as an ideal frame. It contrasts against the shadow nicely and helps the shadow pop out of an otherwise dark scene.

I also like that the telephone wires and trees outside are reflected on the window, further merging the elements of indoors and out onto one pane of glass. It’s a peek inside and a display of the exterior.

Be sure to check out all the other submissions at Hey Harriet.

4 Comments

Filed under Art, Photography

4 responses to “Shadow Shot: Glassy Reflection

  1. Gorgeous! I like the title of your blog.

    My shadow, post, have a blessed Sunday!

  2. magicalmysticalteacher

    There’s a little of everything in this photo–very artistic!

    SHADOW DITTY

    Shadows of onyx, shadows of grey,
    Shadows to chase my doldrums away;
    Shadows each morning, shadows at night,
    Shadows, O shadows, you’re my delight!

    © 2011 by Magical Mystical Teacher

    Shadowy Stairway

  3. Pingback: Neat Shadow

Let's chat! I love hearing from you: